skip to content

For staff

Cambridge academics among recipients of 2018 Royal Society medals and awards

Four Cambridge academics are among the winners of the Royal Society’s 2018 medals and awards, announced today. The annual prizes recognise exceptional researchers who make outstanding contributions to science.

Jocelyn Bell Burnell Medal and Prize

Dr Carmen Palacios-Berraquero was awarded the Jocelyn Bell Burnell Medal and Prize by the Institute of Physics for her work on 2D materials and quantum optics

Professor Laura Díaz Anadón wins the Banco Sabadell Award for Economic Research

Professor Díaz Anadón was awarded the XVII Fundacion Banco Sabadell Award for Economic Research for her work on the role of energy technology innovation and governments in climate change mitigation.

Melvin Pollner Prize

Darin Weinberg's book Contemporary Social Constructionism (2014, Temple) has been awarded the 2018 Melvin Pollner Prize by the American Sociological Association's section on Ethnomethodology and Conversation Analysis...

2018 EFMD Excellence in Practice Award

The Institute for Manufacturing (IfM) has won the 2018 EFMD Excellence in Practice Silver Award in the “Professional Development” category for its Learning and Development Partnership with Atos and Paderborn University.

Cambridge researchers win Royal Society of Chemistry awards

Four Cambridge researchers are among the 2018 winners of the Royal Society of Chemistry's prizes and awards, celebrating the outstanding work happening in every corner of the scientific community...

Professor Bhaskar Vira awarded Royal Geographical Society's Busk Medal

Professor Bhaskar Vira of Cambridge's Department of Geography and Director of the University of Cambridge Conservation Research Institute has been awarded the Royal Geographical Society's Busk Medal, in recognition of his interdisciplinary research on economy, environment and development. ...

2017 Roger de Spoelberch Prize

Professor David Rubinsztein has been awarded the 2017 Roger de Spoelberch Prize for his contributions to neurodegeneration research.
Professor Tony Kouzarides

Election to the American Academy of Arts and Sciences

Professor Tony Kouzarides, group leader at the Wellcome Trust/ Cancer Research UK Gurdon Institute, has been elected an International Honorary Member of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences, in the Biological Sciences class.

Clare Grey receives Royal Society Research Professorship

Professor Clare Grey has been awarded a 2018 Royal Society Research Professorship, the Society's premier research award. ...

Submit a story

If you would like to submit a story for inclusion in our awards section please fill out the request form.