skip to content

For staff

A number of academic scrolls tied with red ribbon

The Pilkington Prizes 2021 for excellence in teaching were presented at an informal virtual ceremony on 29 June.

The ceremony also celebrated the winners of the Technology-Enabled Learning Prize, awarded by Cambridge University Press.

The event was hosted by Professor Graham Virgo, Senior Pro-Vice Chancellor (Education) and was introduced by the Vice-Chancellor, Professor Stephen J Toope who commended the winners for delivering ‘exceptional, dedicated and inspirational education’.

The Pilkington Prizes are awarded annually to members of academic staff in recognition of their contributions to teaching excellence in support of Cambridge undergraduate and postgraduate education. They were initiated by Sir Alastair Pilkington, who believed that the quality of teaching was crucial to the University's success.

The Technology-Enabled Learning Prize was inaugurated in 2019 and seeks to recognise Cambridge academics and staff who have developed their own learning technology solutions – or employed existing technology in an innovative way – to improve the learning outcomes of their students.

Congratulations to the winners of the Pilkington Prize and to the winners of the Technology-enabled Learning prize.

Pilkington Prize

Dr David Clifford, Faculty of English, Homerton College

Dr Elizabeth Fistein, School of Clinical Medicine, Lucy Cavendish College

Prof. Beverley Glover, Department of Plant Sciences, Queens’ College

Dr Hannah Joyce, Department of Engineering, St John’s College

Dr Nikhil Krishnan, Faculty of Philosophy, Robinson College

Hon. Prof. Clare Morris, Institute of Continuing Education

Mr Bill Nicholl, Faculty of Education, Homerton College

Dr Tina Potter, Department of Physics, Newnham College

Dr Dee Scadden, Department of Biochemistry, Downing College

Dr Peter Sloman, Department of Politics & International Studies, Churchill College

Dr Anne Swift, Department of Public Health & Primary Care

Mr Alan Thorne, Department of Engineering

Dr Edward Tipper, Department of Earth Sciences, St John’s College

Technology Enabled Learning Prize

Highly commended: Dr Oleg Kitov, Faculty of Economics, Selwyn College

Winner, AHSS: Dr Sami Everett, Centre for Research in the Arts, Social Sciences & Humanities, St Edmund’s College

Winner, STEMM: Dr Mairi Kilkenny, St Catharine’s College


30 June 2021