skip to content

For staff


Student union thanks staff for supporting students and enhancing the educational experience

Staff from across the University have been recognised for their work by the students they support and teach.

The CUSU Student-Led Teaching Awards 2015 saw 265 nominations from students who submitted testimonies about why their chosen member of staff deserved to win.

Among the nominees were lecturers, supervisors, tutors, chaplains, librarians, custodians, and a whole range of people who have provided student support and enhanced the educational experience at Cambridge.

The winners - judged by a panel of students working alongside CUSU - were presented with their awards at a ceremony on Tuesday, May 12.

Rob Richardson, CUSU Education Officer 2014-15, said: "It has been a pleasure to read the quality and passion of the testimonies from students. The CUSU Teaching Awards provide a great opportunity to highlight the world class teaching that students at Cambridge have access to, and the ceremony itself was an extremely enjoyable occasion. The atmosphere was overwhelmingly positive, and it has been a pleasure to be involved in the awards."

The list of winners and the categories they were recognised in, is below:


Lecturer Category


Dr Laura Moretti, AMES

Dr Rory Finnin, MML

Dr Katharine Hubbard, Plant Sciences

Christine Counsell, Education

Dr Richard Turner, Engineering

Dr Fiona Maine, Education


Supervisor Category


Dr Richard Barnes, PDN

Dr David Whitebread, Education

Dr Jason Rentfrow, Psychology

Dr Helen Thaventhiran, English

Dr Jenny Koenig, Pharmacology

Special Mentions

Dr Ruth Abbott, English

Dr Julian Sale, Pathology

Dr Yannis Galanakis, Classics

Prof Graham Virgo, Law

Matthew Simpson, Philosophy


Pastoral Category


Dr Louise Joy, Homerton

Dr Paola Filippucci, Murray Edwards

Dr Kevin Greenbank, Wolfson


Non-Teaching Category


Don Stebbings, Divinity

Katheryn Ayres, Veterinary Medicine

Karen Kempton, Robinson College

Libby Tilley, English


Image: Thank You by Nate Grigg