skip to content

For staff


Professor Lalita Ramakrishnan announced as one of 84 new members of the U.S. National Academy of Sciences.

The National Academy of Sciences has announced the election of 84 new members and 21 foreign associates from 15 countries in recognition of their distinguished and continuing achievements in original research.

Lalita Ramakrishnan is a Professor of immunology and infectious diseases at the MRC Laboratory of Molecular Biology in the Department of Medicine. Her research is focused on understanding the pathogenesis of tuberculosis and the basis of vastly different susceptibilities to this disease.

Those elected today bring the total number of active members to 2,250 and the total number of foreign associates to 452. Foreign associates are nonvoting members of the Academy, with citizenship outside the United States.

The National Academy of Sciences is a private, nonprofit institution that was established under a congressional charter signed by President Abraham Lincoln in 1863. It recognises achievement in science by election to membership, and – with the National Academy of Engineering, Institute of Medicine, and National Research Council – provides science, technology, and health policy advice to the federal government and other organisations.

Date awarded

28 April 2015

Submit a story

If you would like to submit a story for inclusion in our awards section please fill out the request form.


Lalita Ramakrishnan